What's new

Soap Forum Member Spotlight Kingfisher #2

Readers of the Soap Forum in our new member spotlight series, this is round #2 I would like to introduce you to Randall otherwise known as @kingfisher He has been a member since March 2009 and is a regular poster across the boards. Get to know Randall a little better:

1. Name, job field, age/generation: My name is Randall Fisher. I am a Pediatric Infectious Diseases physician, which means that I take care of children with complicated infections. I am 58 right now but I will be 59 in a couple of weeks, give or take a few days.

2. What’s the meaning behind your username?: My name means nothing. I wanted Fisherking, because of the movie, but it wasn't available, so I switched it around to kingfisher and it worked. I do not like to fish and haven't been fishing in decades. Oh, and I am the king of nothing.

3. When did you join B&B and why did you join us?: I joined B&B in March of 2009. I was dissatisfied with shaving, and especially shaving foams/gels. I searched the internet looking for the best shaving lather. That search led me to B&B, and after exploring for a bit, I joined. My first "real lather" was that shaving cream in the green tube that they sell at Bath and Body Works.

4. Talk to us about your acquisition disorders: I have the ADs pretty bad, especially RAD and SSAD. I never really got into brush acquisition, although I have plenty of them, too. At first I lathered with a brush but continued to shave with an Atra. When I tried DE shaving I found it harsh. At one point I actually thought that everybody on B&B was pretending they shaved with DEs and that nobody would own up to the truth.
There was a member around that time who suggested doing a first pass with a cartridge razor, and then doing an XTG pass with a mild DE, like a Krona. I started doing that every day for several weeks and then decided I could probably do the whole shave with a DE. That's how I got hooked on traditional shaving.