What's new

Soap Forum Member Spotlight jjking54 #8

Well here we are in our 8th installment of the soap four member spotlight. I'd like to introduce you to Jason @jjking54 coming to us from Wisconsin.

1. Name, job field, age/generation:
Jason King ... I’m a Technical Writer for an IT company that provides software for the automotive industry. I’m 44, so I guess that makes me part of Generation X.
2. What’s the meaning behind your username?:
Well … look above J the 54 was my football number in high school and college.
3. When did you join B&B and why did you join us?:
I joined B&B back in 2014. I came via Google after I read about “Shaving like your Grandpa” on Art of Manliness. I was specifically looking for an answer to the razor bumps I’ve been plagued with on my necksince I started shaving.
4. Talk to us about your acquisition disorders:
Whew … well, where do I start? I’d say my first AD would be soaps. I love all the different scents and formulations. I’m a sucker for limited releases or seasonals. At first I thought I wouldn’t be one of“those guys” who always paired his aftershave with his soap, but as time has gone on, I’ve become one of those guys, so number 2, right behind my soap AD, is my aftershave AD. I only have three brushes and while I do, at time, consider buying another, I haven’t. Andonce I found my blades, I’m content to use them and no others.

This year my main AD has been Bourbon ... as I explore different ones in my Year of Bourbon.
5. Favorite soap and why?:
Favorite soap? Hands down, Barrister and MannLeviathan. Funny thing is, I bought it, smelled it when it arrived and thought there was no way I was ever going to use it. I thought it smelled horrible. Like wet newspapers or wet garbage. But then I lathered it … between the performance and the scent, it absolutelycaptivates me. I love it.