What's new

Soap burn?

Looking at ingredient lists I think it's the proportion of potassium hydroxide that gives me a mild burn. I have trouble with most creams I've tried but only one brand of soap - Henri et Victoria.
Even Cella has mixed reviews. Seems creams have fewer negative reviews. I think I'll try the Ach Brito next. Everyone raves about it.

So excuse my total newb question. Does soap typically burn vs cream? I picked up my first soap and it gave me a significant burning sensation. I have used several creams and never had any reactions or anything. I didn’t have any lasting effects, just discomfort while the lather was on my face. Is this a common thing with soap or does this seem like a fluke situation?
I’ve found one soap that burns my skin. That’s Col Conk Almond. Figure it must be whatever they use for the Almond or Cherry scent, no problem with any other Conk soaps or Van Der Hagen either.

Phoenixkh

I shaved a fortune
I had a pretty bad reaction to Bannister and Mann's Passiflora this past Tuesday.... my face was still a bit sore when I shaved today. It's too bad because the soap performed well and the scent was pleasant.

I had a pretty bad reaction to Bannister and Mann's Passiflora this past Tuesday.... my face was still a bit sore when I shaved today. It's too bad because the soap performed well and the scent was pleasant.

Passiflora contains cinnamon which can be a sensitizer for some shavers. Although I am slightly sensitive to cinnamon, I was able to use Passiflora without a problem. Everyone is different in this regard.

Phoenixkh

I shaved a fortune
Passiflora contains cinnamon which can be a sensitizer for some shavers. Although I am slightly sensitive to cinnamon, I was able to use Passiflora without a problem. Everyone is different in this regard.