What's new

Soap burn?

So excuse my total newb question. Does soap typically burn vs cream? I picked up my first soap and it gave me a significant burning sensation. I have used several creams and never had any reactions or anything. I didn’t have any lasting effects, just discomfort while the lather was on my face. Is this a common thing with soap or does this seem like a fluke situation?

I get a burning sensation with a few soaps and creams too. I haven’t been able to narrow it down to a specific ingredient yet. The worst offender was Antica Barbieria Colla shaving cream. A real shame because it was an excellent cream in all other regards.

It’s seems to be luck if the draw if you have sensitive skin. I don’t think it’s necessarily a soap vs cream thing.

I get a burning sensation with a few soaps and creams too. I haven’t been able to narrow it down to a specific ingredient yet. The worst offender was Antica Barbieria Colla shaving cream. A real shame because it was an excellent cream in all other regards.

It’s seems to be luck if the draw if you have sensitive skin. I don’t think it’s necessarily a soap vs cream thing.
I’ve never really thought that I had sensitive skin. That’s sort of what threw me off.

Probably you have a skin sensitivity to an ingredient, such as an essential oil or fragrance. This would not be a problem for all soaps, though.

Just to give a few examples, some Italian soaps use benzaldehyde, that can trigger skin reaction in a few people. Some soaps contain lanolin, that can be a problem for a small percentage. Some soaps have a high pH, that could cause a problem for a small fraction if the soap remains on the skin too long.

What soap is it? Contain menthol?
1B9B0E1E-CFCF-40D6-8C5F-C54D5339D448.jpeg

Ha. No.

Probably you have a skin sensitivity to an ingredient, such as an essential oil or fragrance. This would not be a problem for all soaps, though.