What's new

So...............

I have read how a shave with a SR can be one of pure bliss - closer & more comfortable than with a modern day razor. Surely, with all the forums being full of guys who swear of the close and comfy a SR can bring, i unfortunately am not one of them. The SR bliss i so often read about is proving quite elusive.

So i ask myself, if SR shaving is so great why did modern razors emerge???

i guess its the logic of if it wasn't ever broke why was it fixed??

As almost everyone else indicated, modern razors emerged not to be better. They emerged to be MUCH MUCH MUCH more convenient. What's really sad, though, is this convenience isn't all it's cracked up to be. I've been shaving with a straight for a touch over 2 years. Now that I have a little time under my belt, I can shave in about 10 minutes. Most guys with canned goop and a Mach 3 won't save very much time over this. Maintenance isn't even that time consuming. Now that I have my shaving, stropping, and honing technique a little more polished, I can go 2 or more months on one razor without needing to hone. So 6 times a year, I break out the hones and spend 20-30 minutes touching up a razor while I drink beer and watch a partial rerun of The Rifleman, Bonanza, or Andy Griffith. All this for a drastically better shave.