What's new

So Upgrading From a Beginer SR To A Better One

When a beginner upgrades from a crappy starting razor to something better, what can the newbie expect? What are the main differences that are going to be noticed right away by shaving with an upgrade?

EB Newfarm

Cane? I'm Able!
I am new to this, but my take is:
Crappy razor with a crappy edge will not be much fun and may make you want to quit.
Crappy razor with a good edge will make you realize it is all about the edge.
Nice razor with a crappy edge is just nice razor with a bad edge- no fun.
Nice razor with a nice edge is a joy to use, it will will feel smooth and safe, plus nice aesthetics.
In the end, a good edge is what matters more than the razor.
A razor that has been honed by a pro will make your shave work better and give you confidence. A junk edge will have you fighting to get a good shave and that is when things go bad.
I'd rather put money and effort into getting a good edge than putting money into the razor itself. Don't get me wrong, I have still been spending money on new razors, but some of my best shaves have come from carefully worked blades from someone who really knows their stuff.
I still have a lot to learn, so others may have more to say.

Depends on what you mean by “crappy”. Some people (myself included) find even a well modded and honed Gold Dollar to be a delight to use.

A lot comes, like many things, down to personal preference - hardness of steel, how an edge is kept, grind, tail length, spine detail work, toe style, etc.

In general the steel will be better, the scales will be nicer than simple celluloid, and the blade will look aesthetically pleasing. Whether or not it actually shaves better is another story.

It should hold an edge a little better and certainly look better.
I believe all dovo razors are made with the same steel yet they still vary in price difference being gold wash, better scales etc.