What's new

Sipping Tequila

Just like the title says, I wanna hear about sipping tequilas you gentlemen like. My buddies wedding is coming up and I want to surprise him with some good stuff.

I’d like to keep it $100 and under if I can.

He likes Don Julio and Patron. I know there’s better tequila out there so help me out!

Pofidio is my favorite, but hard to find. something a little more unique with a great backstory, Del Maguey Mezcal. www.delmaguey.com They are all different, and most are delicious. I tend to like their mid-priced offerings.

Espolon has a great anejo and a reposado that are aged in bourbon barrels and very smooth.

I also like Hornitos, both their reposado and anejo. I tried Herradura anejo, and it was good but would probably be better in reposado.

I avoid any maker's extra anejo as that's too much oak for me.

I'm relatively new to tequila but have been enjoying trying out different options at places that serve them chilled in sipping glasses. The best thing about tequila is that as long as it's 100% agave, they're mostly good. If I ever buy a bottle I don't like I would just make margaritas with it.

TexLaw

Fussy Evil Genius
The first think I thought of was Espolon. It's quite good, readily available, and usually around $30. You can spend about as much as you want, but you might have to spend at least twice as much to get much better stuff.

Also, I agree about the "Extra Anejo" tequilas. It's too much barrel, and not enough tequila. You're better off getting a good whiskey.

There is a Corzo tequila that I had once for sipping rather than shooting... talk about incredibly delicious and smooth - my friend kept it in a freezer, and it isnt overly expensive!
proxy.php

For whatever brand, I'd suggest the reposado style is most in line for what you're looking for..ymmv..but to me it's a bit sweeter and more flavorful than anejo. There are tasty, affordable examples of both of course.