What's new

Single edge razors low popularity

Hi wet shavers hope you're all doing great.A healthy discussion on single edge razor ,blades.Please do pop in with your knowledgeable opinions and observations

Scenario so far:-
I see many makers of them razors who come and go off the market.Select few survive that too by having the plastic cartridge razors as main and the single edge as an after burner.
Or
They have their cash cows from the standard double edge blades and single edge razors as a hobby or they have shut single edge clearing old stock and flying mach2 on double edge razors.

The question:-
-When the supply is there then why aren't there enough wet shavers to have them.With the break even the costs can be controlled?
-Why isn't there a single universal design standard on single edge razors like we have in double edge blades?What's the need to have distinction in single edge razor and their blade design.
Why fix when it ain't broke.

Being a newbie i could have some facts wrong or mistakes please do correct them

Some single edge razors use a 1/2 DE blade. While this gives you a great variety of blade manufactureurs and styles, why should I go to the bother of snapping a DE blade when I can put put an intact blade in my choice of many DE razors already in my rotation?

Other single edge razors use specialty blades that come in only a few options for blades - just more stuff to clutter up my already loaded shave lab.

Got a few Schick single edges, and the Personna and Chick blades currently available give good shaves sans blade choices.

The various types of blades exist because they were invented by different companies competing with one another.

But before cartridge razors, the Gillette double edge was far and away the market leader in the US and most other parts of the world. So it shouldn’t be too surprising that lots of people are adjusted to it, and more is produced in that format than anything else.