What's new

single-edge gurus

Hello, well, I've recently gotten into single edge razors. I've managed to pick up a gem 1912 and a g bar (although I haven't had a chance to shave with either yet! the anticipation...). Anyways, my query is about the history of single edge shaving. When did it start (compared with double edge), and what were some major brands? What are some 'must-have' razors, and where can I find out about pricing and identifying them (is there a database or list)?

Yes, that's a lot to ask, so if anyone could even point me in the right direction to find that info would be greatly appreciated! (paging D.Irving79... how many single-edge gurus reside here at B&B anyways?) I find info on these razors harder to come by than double-edge.

Much obliged!

Last edited:
I am no guru, but I have been shaving with a 1912 and a 1908 lather catcher for a couple of months. I think single edge blades became an alternative to the tedious upkeep of a straight during the 1890s. Single edges also offered a safety bar to protect the shaver from the full blade. There are in between models that used a honable, stropable permanent blade in a single edge apparatus, but they are fairly rare. I hope this helps.

There are lots of threads you can search on forums here at B&B, TSD, SMF and others. Google is a great way as well to find info. The hunt is part of the fun!!

Check out Kampfe, Star, Gem, Valet, Schick and see how they all fit together in respect to the Gillette history. And if you need more single edges than that, move back a few years to Wade&Butcher, Ern, Wolstenholm.