What's new

Shaving with Cremo

Just wondering—since the directions on the product are a little vague to me. Do you guys reapply additional goo for a second pass? I’ve been using it for a year or so on and off, but recently started doing both passes with a single application. The first pass is nice and the second is OK too…just different. I just rub in a little water to get it slick again.

FWIW and IMO its a great product. For minimalists or a guy in a hurry, who are looking for a quick path to BBS, this stuff eliminates the need for a brush and the entire lathering process.

I'm still new to this, going from canned gel to VDH and now Cremo over the past 4 months. I've been applying a small amount for second and third passes, but just like a pea-size dab, I apply an almond-size dollop for the first pass.

It's slick, and better than the other 2 products I've used for sure. But it sometimes dries and I have to reapply water before the end of a pass. I'm going to move on to a brush and soap or cream though, see if that works any better for me. It sounds like face lathering a shave stick or "normal" cream is pretty quick, and it takes me time to spread that little bit of Cremo around my whole face.

Although Cremo can be applied brushless, it becomes incredibly slick when mixed with water. Thus, I always lather it using a shaving brush. You can lather it either in a bowl or mug or on your face. The brush should hold sufficient lather to reapply it for subsequent passes.

If you do not have a shaving brush, I suggest purchasing an inexpensive synthetic or boar brush. Although you can find some inexpensive badger brushes, I do not recommend them as they are usually small in diameter, lack density, and use lower grades of badger hair. A synthetic shaving brush I highly recommend is the Alexander Simpson Trafalgar brush. It comes in three sizes. I have both the T2 and T3, but prefer the T3.