What's new

Shavin Mail Call!!! I got's me my Shick Type I!

That's right! Got it in this morning. My first old-timey razor (I'm a millennial chap). Its a Hydro-Magic variety razor. I'm going to try and post pics later on. But for now I thought I would share the love. I'm going to do a shave with this after I can get this cleaned up and get a fresh blade inside. Would pouring rubbing alcohol or using bleach damage the razor? I'm new to this old-timey razor stuff.

Schick is a great razor. Please don’t use bleach. Dawn dish soap, hot water soak, gentle scrub with toothbrush. Maybe scrubbing bubbles if you have some, the no bleach kind. But a good, hot soapy bath and a bit of scrubbing will do the trick. Alcohol dip if you’re afraid of germs. Happy Shaves!!

Flintstone65

Imagining solutions for imaginary problems
Not sure what the handle is on an "I", but agree to avoid bleach at all cost, and depending on the handle material, only soak the metal head in alcohol....bakelite and alcohol are not a good match. I like Scrubbing Bubbles (without bleach) and/or Lysol concentrate mixed on the heavier side with warm water for a 10 minute soak. Most folks just use the dawn and toothbrush method, and that's fine; I'm kind of a clean-freak.

Don't use bleach. If you use the 70% or 91% isopropyl alcohol, try to keep it off the handle. Scrubbing bubbles works fine.

Flintstone65

There are many threads discussing how to clean razors, and Schick's specifically...here's a somewhat recent one: Injector Disinfecting?

It can be a touchy subject, but from my perspective, it's just a continuum and you decide where you need to be to feel comfortable. If it's a simple Dawn and toothbrush cleaning, that's great. If it's more, you just want to be sure you damage the razor in the process....that's where it can get complicated. I've done some stupid stuff in the name of cleanliness/disinfection, and I've paid the price with a damaged handle.