What's new

Shavette to SR honing

I've been using a parker shavette with feather blades for about 5 years. I inherited 5/8" Wade and Butcher that's been sitting in a drawer for decades. I finally sent it to a reputable hone master. I got it back and stropped it on canvas 10 times and the leather 25 times. The one thing I noticed while stropping was that one side of the blade made a high-pitched sound on the stroke and the other didn't. This morning was my 1st SR shave and it pulled, a lot. Dried it off, canvas 25 times and leather 100 times, much better. Still pulled, but it resulted in a nice smooth shave.

I've been told that a SR does not have the sharp edge of a laser cut double edge blade. On the other hand I heard several people say that a SR can deliver a smoother shave and just as close. The fellow who honed the WB used shapton Glass Water Stones in 1000, 4000, 8000, 16,000, and finish on a 30,000 grit. I own the higher grade King 1k/6k, and was planning on getting shapton pro 8k and 12k stones. However, It doesn't seem as though I'll do as well on my 12k stone as he will on his 30k.

I'm not of a mind to give up. I have the 5/8" WB, and in the last month I've purchased a 9/16" Anton Wingen, 6/8" Genco and lastly a 13/16" Imperial. I got these specific blades to learn how to hone. On the forums suggestion, I'm staying away from the higher end stuff until I know what I'm doing.

Any pearls of wisdom on why a razor finished on a 30k stone pulled? Thanks

My first question would be whether the reputable honemiester was a straight user themselves that came recommended by other straight users. There's no certification that I know of, so credentials are word of mouth from experienced straight shavers.

If your honemiester has street cred, then I would contact them with your concerns and see if they can "make it right" for you. Everyone has their own idea of the perfect edge and the honemiester may have guessed wrong for you.