What's new

Sharpening systems

For many years I've used a Chef's Choice Flexhone Strop to sharpen my kitchen knives and a Victorinox mini sharpener for my pocket knives. Both do a decent enough job but don't make my knives anywhere near razor sharp. I am therefore hoping to get something better, mostly for my pocket knives, and wonder if some of the moderately priced sharpening systems are any good. I am thinking here about the Lansky sharpening system or Work Sharp field system in particular.
I realise a couple of good wetsones would do a better job, but they seem to cost more than I'm willing to pay (even if, as a honing novice, I could decide which are any good) and would require a good bit of learning time, so aren't for me. In any case, I'm looking for knives which can shave the hair off my forearm, not split a hair on water or draw blood from the wind. So, would one of these sharpening systems meet my "needs", and if so which one?

I am watching this thread as it has been a question I have had for the past couple of years. I have two quality kitchen knives, as well as several cheap ones. I saw a couple of rigs for sharpening, but I don't trust the advertisements.

I have the Spyderco Sharpmaker, and the Lansky system.

The Lansky is a step up from the Spyderco, and will give you very sharp knives. If you buy some stropping compound, it will get you to a mirror edge, if that is your jam.

Both systems take a little practice to learn, but are intuitive enough. The Spyderco one is still quite a "manual" method, in so far as it relies heavily on your eye and a steady, and consistent hand, whereas the Lanksy is fully guided.

The drawback of the Lansky is that is doesn't really scale: once your blade is longer than a typical pocket knife (3-4") it is not really suitable. I still use it on smaller kitchen knives, but for the bigger knives, I just use whetstones.