What's new

Sharpening my straight razor

Hello,
I am fairly new to shaving with a straight razor. I use a DOVO that I just purchased. I love shaving with a straight razor. I have never had a closer shave in my life. I am curious about the sharpening kits on Amazon. Are they good for straight razors, or should I just wait until the shop that I bought my straight razor from has the kits in again. What is a good kit to get?

rbscebu

Girls call me Makaluod
Do NOT get a "sharpening kit" from Amazon or anywhere else. I strongly recommend that you start off with lapping film. It is all covered in this thread:

If your SR is truly shave-ready, you can go straight to diamond pasted balsa strops:

Once you have your SR shaving technique all sorted and you can consistently get good edges off film and balsa, then start looking down the whetstone rabbit hole.

rbscebu

Girls call me Makaluod
I assume that you have a leather strop for your Dovo SR. For the time being, just strop your SR before each shave. That should keep you going for 30 to 100 shaves, depending on your stropping and shaving techniques. This will give you time to read and prepare for using lapping film.

Do NOT use any paste or other abrasive on your leather strop. Keep it clean. Using an abrasive will tend to convex the bevel and round the edge. Not what you want in the longer term.

A set of decent whetstones will cost you many hundreds of dollars. A lapping film setup will cost you tens of dollars. You can get into whetstones later.

Pastes are awesome! You just need a piece of cotton and somewhere to put it. Cut up an old pair of trousers and lay it on the kitchen table.

I think stones are easier to learn on than film.