What's new

Shapton 12k ceramic or lapping film?

I can only afford to get one with the buy now pay later. I wont have extra for a setup for the film but can get that later if need be. I already have 2 sets of cheap stones. Should i stick to stones or use a combo of both? Im brand new to honing also

I would maybe recommend DE shaving if on a tight budget and looking for better Shaves.

If you want to get into straight razor shaving Can be a big upfront cost but worth it in the long run. I would probably recommend having your razor honed by others at the start - then chasing the edge you like.

While both options above are good - the Shapton will require a diamond plate but can keep your shave ready razor running for a long time. The shapton 12k and lapping plate would be good long term investments if you stay in the hobby. (The lapping plate would also help with the stones you already have).

The film can get you from a to b for a cheaper price to start. Probably what I would recommend if on the fence about straight razor shaving. You will probably end up going with a different finishing method though.

Do you already have an okay razor and strop?

I can only afford to get one with the buy now pay later. I wont have extra for a setup for the film but can get that later if need be. I already have 2 sets of cheap stones. Should i stick to stones or use a combo of both? Im brand new to honing also
I think you should work with the ones you got. You'll be able to pull a shave from it eventually if you keep them clean and flat. I might have one to loan if you can't get the hang of it. Dm me if you want to.

Where are you from? I’m in the Chicagoland area. If your local I have some 3 and 1um film I’d give ya.