What's new

Several Vintage Razors Calling My Name. What do I do?

This is my first time starting a thread so I hope I do B&B justice...

Here we go:

I have been shaving with a safety razor for about 4 years now. I started out with an EJ DE89 and loved the craftsmanship. About 2 months ago I decided to give vintage razors a whirl... and boy what a whirlwind it has been. My first vintage acquisition was a Leresche #51 (I know a bit luxurious for my first purchase but I wanted to indulge myself to try to stave off any RAD that might creep in if I were to have bought a more common razor).

Needless to say, it did not work... :a52:

As it currently stands, I have 10 razors with 2 on the way and 1 in negotiations. :blushing: They are: Eclipse Red Ring (Model MM I believe), Gillette Aristocrat #16, Gillette Goodwill #164, Gillette Ball End LC, Leresche #51, 46-47 Gillette Aristocrat, Apollo Mikron Adjustable, Gold Hoffritz Slant, 1963 I-1 Slim Adjustable, EJ DE89. I have a 1955 A-3 Red Tip on the way and another Aristocrat #16. Since I can only add 5 pictures, below are my top 5 prized razors:

$Red Ring.jpg$Aristocrat 16.jpg$Leresche 51.jpg$apollo mikron adjustable.jpg$Hoffritz Slant.jpg

Now to my dilemma: Concurrently during my bout with RAD, I have started on the journey to a Yeard or at least a 6 month beard. I am 2 months in and loving it but every time I look at my razors or purchase a new one, I get that itch (not from the beard :lol:) to test one of these babies out. I will certainly use them once this beard experiment is over but I didn't expect it to be this tough. Even my wife is starting to get on my case about these razors. Her go to line is, "why do you keep buying so many razors if you aren't even shaving???" I can only fight the go fight for so long.

What do you guys suggest? Thanks.

This is my first time starting a thread so I hope I do B&B justice...

Here we go: