What's new

Seeking advice on a synthetic brush

I've been wetshaving for about 13 years and have only bought 3 brushes in total. All badger.
The first was a $50 middle of the road Vulfix. I found it way too soft. Sold it and got a Savile Row something or other for $100. It was a considerable improvement but I still found it too floppy so I guess I like some backbone.
Savile Brush.jpg

I ended up with a Rooney Heritage something or other which was $150. After talking to the guy at Vintageblades we decided that this would be a good choice for me.
I've been very happy with it (although there are some cracks at the top of the handle as you can see. I don't use the Savile much as I find it too floppy (but I've been thinking I should try it again for creams).

Savile Brush.jpg

A couple years ago I read about the atrocities committed on Badgers and figured I would try not to buy a Badger brush in the future but wondered if I'd find a good enough synthetic. Back in 2013, I think synthetics were pretty mediocre.

I don't actually need a brush now but reading about how good some $15-30 brushes are I thought maybe I'd try one.

Any guidance? I suppose I'd like to keep it under $50-$75 since I've never had Brush Acquisition Disorder (unless there's a great reason to spend more); I'd also be happy to spend less. I'm thinking I probably have medium sensitive skin and average hardness/coarseness of hair (or maybe a little softer).

I have pretty large hands (usually XL gloves) and probably want a brush on the larger side. Don't know about huge though.

I use mostly hard soaps though I sometimes use soft soaps or creams but since I have 2 other brushes, lets assume I'm particularly interested in a brush for hard soaps.

I mostly bowl (scuttle) lather then do some face mopping / scrubbing.

Some of the WCS brushes look promising (and I'm soon to place a WCS order). Some reviews say they're a bit too soft though.

Attachments

• Heritage Brush.jpg
    Heritage Brush.jpg