What's new

Second-ish Razor

Hello gents! Newbie to DE wet shaving, and newbie to this forum.

I’ve been shaving for a couple months with a Merkur 23C. While I like the balance and feel of the blade, I have a coarse, wiry beard that grows quickly, and I find I need to take several passes with the 23c to get through even a day or two worth of growth.

Now, all that is fine and good when I want a nice relaxing shave, but many mornings I just want to “bang it out” as I don’t like walking around with much growth due to discomfort.

Another thing to note, my lower neck maps crazy, and anything other than WTG results in irritation due to the multiple passes needed from the 23C.

In order to try something more aggressive I picked up a qshave adjustable. I found that I do like a more efficient shave, but I don’t love how it handles and find myself getting sliced up. However, the qshave wasn’t meant to be a daily driver, just a test into a more aggressive razor.

All that being said, I’d like to get a razor that is efficient against heavy growth, but also mild enough to help with my sensitive skin/temperamental neck. I’m currently deciding between the 37C slant and a Fatip open comb. If you were me, what would you choose as your 2nd(ish) DE razor?

Thanks!

Last edited:
Both are good razors. My recommendation to you is to get a Fatip. The slant requires a higher level of proper technique, & the Fatip has a low price point to try open comb razors.

If you want to try vintage Gillette razors, there are some wonderful open comb mild efficient razors available, such as a NEW LC or the NEW SC.