What's new

SE Cold Shavers

Hello B&B Friends,

I have been using DE for a decent amount of time, since about 2006 or so. Shaving in general since around 1985. I've also been cold water shaving for the better part of the past decade with amazing results. I get much better shaves and my face is much healthier than when using hot prep. I have a fairly light beard and prefer to shave daily after a shower.

Recently, I picked up an Ever-Ready 1924 as well as a NOS Schick Injector (Type-L, I believe).

So far, the shaves have been pretty rough going. The ER in particular has been extremely tuggy and difficult to use. I've been using GEM PTFEs and have attempted everything between super-shallow to almost neutral angles to no avail. I also tried a hot water prep with it. That improved things somewhat but not nearly enough. Still extremely uncomfortable.

The Schick has been far better than the ER but still not quite as smooth as even some of my dullest DE blades. I've been using the Plus Platinum blades that came with it but also have some Chinese Schicks in the den. Unlike the ER, I've been able to complete entire shaves with the Schick. The ER I've had to put down after a single pass and finish with a DE.

Do any of you use cold water to shave with SE? If so, has there been much a difference from a hot prep? Anything I should try to make these shaves a bit smoother? Anything obvious sticking out here?

Thanks in advance for your help. 😎👍

I always use hot water to shave, but I can't see that the prep would be any different. I watch Jim Roe, Jayaruh, shaving with cold water on his YouTube channel and he does nothing special. I will comment that the ER 1924 is not the best starting place for Gem-type razors IMHO. You might try a Gem Feather Weight or a 1912 and get better results.

thombrogan

Lounging On The Isle Of Tugsley.
If your prep is working for every other razor except the 1924, it might either be the razor or more pressure than realized.