What's new

Scents similar to TOBS Sandalwood?

I used it again tonight after using soaps for a while and I absolutely love this scent. Any cream/soap recommendations with a similar scent?

Try Trumpers. I like their sandalwood for the cologne type. Art of shaving has one. You can even sample theirs in a store before buying. Plenty of cream makers have their own takes on sandalwood. You could try ordering a bunch of samples from various vendors to check the scents out.

Proraso red is real sandalwood oil from the tree. It's not for everyone. I like it.

Proraso Red.
I have TOBS (hard soap) and Proraso red (croap); they don't smell the same to me. To my nose, the TOBS has a more floral scent while the Proraso has a darker (more patchouli-esque) scent.

If anything, I would say that TOBS sandalwood is a slightly darker version of (tallow) Tabac. They're both floral, but with different flowers making up the scents (I am not good at distinguishing between flowers, let alone by smell, so please pardon the lack of clarity here).

Whisky

ATF. I use all three.
Staff member
If you like TOBS you need to look for “cologne type” sandalwood scents. True Sandalwood smells nothing like TOBS. I like Proraso Red a lot but not as much as the TOBS Sandalwood. I REALLY liked Fine Santal Absolut but it’s been discontinued, you may keep an eye on the BST to see if anyones selling a puck.

@kyleifornia If you like TOBS Sandalwood, you need Cyril Salter’s Indian Sandalwood cream in your collection methinks! I think it’s an overlooked gem. I first tried it in 2013 and have been hooked on it ever since. So much so I’ve never bought a second tub of TOBS Sandalwood. It’s a similar,

You might also like Geo Trumper’s Spanish Leather too.