What's new

Scandi grind and cheap synthetic stones?

I’m a total noob in regards to freehand sharpening but I got me some cheap and I guess inconsistent stones a while ago. Today my cardboard slayer - a cheap Mora Robust Carbon - gave out so I want to give them a try.

That and my two clumsy mitts is what I have available:

EB822AE4-A664-49F4-805E-0F49BF23C09E.jpeg

I guess I don’t need the 2k/6k anytime soon but shall I start as low as 400? Currently the Mora can’t cleanly cut paper anymore.

I know I have to sharpen the the full bevel with a Scandi but how shall I prepare the stone? Watering (how long if?) or just wetting it? How much pressure, edge leading? Is 1k enough or do I have to use something else after that?

Any pointers would be welcome 🙏

There are a number of things that go into the cost and effectiveness of a synthetic hone. The BearMoo stones, like many less expensive hones, are made of corundum (silicon carbide). I do not know the uniformity of the grit. It is said to be a soft stone, which is typical of many corundum stones. Often corundum stones are used with honing oil, but the description on the Amazon web site says to soak the stone in water for 5 minutes before use. If you do not like the honing action using water, you can always switch to oil later. Just remember that corundum stones are normally porous, so once you start using oil on the stones, it is nearly impossible to remove the oil from the pores.

There are a number of great YouTube channels featuring knife sharpening. One of my favorites is "Burrfection". I suggest you check out some of the videos to learn the basics of honing a knife.

Ok maybe I was overthinking the Scandi thing but after 20 minutes the Mora was back to paper shaving sharp, plenty enough for breaking down boxes.

I won’t touch my kitchen knives as it would be a sure way to wreck them but for Toolbox stuff it’s pretty straightforward.