What's new

Saving Soap Samples

I was just wondering if anyone saves samples of their soaps as references to scents, etc. and how you store them.

I am relatively new to DE shaving and soap collecting (an addiction). Even though my collection is modest to the stash many of you have in your den, I realized that personnally I really should try and use/enjoy my acquisitions. I have 13 cans of soap and like them all in different ways. As an addictive noob, I made a spread sheet, and started to track what razor, soap, and blade I use every day (I only have one brush - next target for collecting).

Over the last 52 days of tracking, I noticed that I haven't used any specific soap more then 8 times and they all look relatively full! At this rate, I already bought probably enough for years! It has been tough resisting the urge to buy other scents. Nevertheless, I am trying hard to deplete my stock first. There is no reason not to, because I do enjoy them. It's funny watching folks talk about soap value per once. What's the difference if you bought so much you can't possibly use it? Every dollar spent is a sunk cost that isn't utilized. If you have so many that you can only use them a couple times a year, the actual cost per shave is quite high. I'm not judging because I get collecting and this is a addictive hobby. I know I'm a nut but see below (Don't show my wife!):

$Screen Shot 2016-10-10 at 11.47.35 PM.jpg

I was just doing this to see what worked the best for me (best shaves), how long soaps lasted, how many shaves I get from different blades, etc.

I digress. I'm a geeky engineer by heart! My question is because I want to keep trying different products, but want to remember those I like, I was thinking about storing small samples as a reference before finishing a product.