What's new

Safe to use a gas stove without the burner cap?

There's the question! I've just discovered the jet flame I can get when taking off the burner cap and it'd be perfect for wok cooking. I don't know why I've never tried that before, but is it safe? My gut says yes, but I thought I'd ask. Can't forsee anything setting on fire or exploding :laugh:

Might seem great but not a good idea as it can produce more carbon monoxide as the flame isn't directed evenly through the burner cap and you may have a more floppy yellow flame, you will probably find more soot deposits on the base of the wok than normal, unfortunately I would have to disconnect the cooker from the gas supply if I came across one like that on one of my jobs as a gas/heating engineer. Safety first as always:001_smile

The burner cap acts as a mini hot plate to redistribute some of the heat to the center so you get even heating when using western cookware. It should work fine either way. The thing is though with a wok you want zoned heat with most of the hot part in the center so you really need the opposite of what you are doing to the burner.

It's a hot blue flame, but thanks for the warning!
No problem, does it stay blue with the wok on it out of curiosity? Regardless of that, it would officially be classed as 'Immediately Dangerous' and capped from the gas supply as per the Gas Safe Regs, might seem drastic but it's a gas appliance not running as the manufacturers intended, looks more manly I guess but not good:biggrin1:

Ever seen proper wok burners? They're like jet engines! I just want to maximise the intensity of the flame and having it hit the bottom directly rather than going up the sides seems closest to replicating the effect of a propane wok burner. If it's unsafe though maybe I should find an alternative, but it stays blue when it hits the wok. I'll post a couple of pictures when I get chance