What's new

RR GC .84 OH MY LORD HAVE MERCY

GC .68 ordered. See, a love-fest like this thread is why I need to stay away from forums - makes it too easy to spend money. :biggrin1:

I'm new to DE shaving, at this point I only have one of the Gillette Heritage jobbers that came out recently (I liked the case and intended to use it while traveling). It's been a positive experience so I've been scoping out SS options. I was prepared to spend more, but I stumbled across this thread (and have since read others like it) - the almost universal praise of the GCs and their value proposition got me. Since I am new, I opted for the more mild 68, but will keep the 84 plate in mind in the future if all goes well.

Anyway, looking forward to receiving my GC soon!

Back in January I said I’d compare my GC OC .84 with the Karve OC-E when I received it. Since then a few things changed:
  • I got tired of waiting, cancelled my Karve order, and bought a used Karve brass with E and F Sb plates
  • had my shoulder replacement before I got a chance to shave with the Karve
  • started shaving left handed
So, I’ve now had 12 left handed shaves, 2 with a 34HD, 6 with the GC OC .84, and 4 with the Karve (one with the F, three with the E). Now I know shaving left handed may not be a totally fair comparison, but to my surprise it didn’t seem to make a difference with the GC, other than taking twice as long. Since I’ll be left handed shaving for at least another month, I thought I’d do a comparison now.

In a nutshell, I did not find the Karve more comfortable than the GC, as many others seem to have. The F plate was too much for me, the shave was uncomfortable and did produce some irritation. The E plate, over three shaves, ga e really good results, but with less comfort than the GC. I also found it less intuitive to find the optimum angle, unlike the GC.