What's new

Rookie question about exploring different soaps...

FarmerTan

"Self appointed king of Arkoland"
Or PdP. Pasteurs has a great sale on right now, and both the Bergamot and Thyme and the 63 are well priced, even before the current Independence Day discount.
I want to know if the Aftershave smells of 63 is as nice as the soap! It's addictive.

This isn't a joke:

I took my Van Der Hagen Shave Soap and put it in the shower. (I'm using it as a puck of body soap). I prefer my Humphrey's Handmade Glycerine Sandalwood/Patchouli Shaving Soap so that my face and neck won't be butchered when I shave!

I'm continuing to use the search feature and trying to read up on older threads. The sheer volume of information is overwhelming, so apologies if this has been asked/answered:

Shaving soap question for you guys, as I am a bit of a novice on the soap category. I’ve generally been using shaving creams in a tube, such as Creamo and proraso, and lathering directly on the face.

If I were to buy my first supply of shaving soap, do I need to buy one that’s in a container with a lid so that it is preserved and does not oxidize? I see some that are just sold as Pucks and I’m not sure how they are to be stored each day?

Without knowing any better and looking at simple reviews online, it looks like for somebody who is new to using soaps instead of creams in a tube, the Proraso green might be a good starting point? Please suggest otherwise as I’m really interested. I have my first nice brush on the way to me this week and might be retiring my 12 year old Edwin Jagger brush, although it's been suggested I give it a good shampoo and keep using.