What's new

Rolled edge??

I am relatively new to straight razors shaving. I'm just over 100 shaves in. I wasn't in a hurry to learn honing. I just wanted to learn the stropping and shaving part first, and to see if I was in this for the long hall. Well I did make up my mind and I decided I was in it for the long hall. So I did buy me some stones. I haven't used them yet because I am waiting on the old beater razors to come in that I ordered, because I don't want to ruin my good ones while learning to hone.

I have run into a bit of a dilemma though. I bought my Ralf Aust razor new and it was shave ready. I successfully stropped and shaved with it 64 times without rolling or dulling my edge. At shave 65 I did a refreshing on a balsawood strop with crox. It did wake up my edge and make it like new again, and it shaved very well for another 6 shaves. Today's shave I did my normal stropping routine, and I always check the hht test before and after a shave and it failed the 1st 3/4, of the blade.

I don't have any magnification yet, but I did look at the apex under a strong light source. Its does appear to have glimmers of light catching in spots on the apex. I don't understand what went wrong, because I'm OCD as crap, but that don't mean I didn't mess up though!! I always strop using a light touch with a taught strop. I never rinse under the facet, because of the fear of dinging the edge, so I wipe the lather in a stropping motion on a soft sponge. I always post strop to insure the edge is dry. I always oil the blade with ballistol. My routine has never changed. I have read of guys getting over 100 shaves without touchups.