What's new

Rockwell blades

Tried them once and did not think much of them, but gave them another ride with a slant and love it. Could not get them to perform with a tto Gillette set at 7 or above. If you like these blades what is your matching razor?

I tried one today in a Rockwell 6S and the #2 head. I thought I could hear something being cut, but after two passes, I gave up. It looked like I had done nothing. Very comfortable and no irritation, but I was too fuzzy to accept it and afraid to keep piling on the passes. It has a reputation as a dull blade, and I was using the #2 head, so maybe I'll try it with a bigger-gap head sometime. I've used the razor only a couple of times - and I'm a noob anyway - so I don't know it well enough yet to draw any conclusions.

The reason I tried this combination was because of the writing on the Rockwell box. They recommend the 2 plate for daily shaving and they include the blades, so I figured I would give that combination a try.

Hmm, interesting thread. I find that my Rockwell Blades are extremely nice. However, I seem to be using the more aggressive settings with my Rockwell Razor. I also use the lower settings for finer hairs elsewhere on the body. For example, R3 for my Underarms. I get a good 4 shaves from the Rockwell Blades with shaving certain parts of the body after the 4th shave. I'm pretty sure I could get a 5th or even a 6th shave out of each blade if I pushed it.

@jmpstl
Don't go by the writing on the Rockwell Box unless you have extremely wispy whiskers. I start my face shaves with an R6 WTG, R5 XTG, and then finally the R4 caddie corner to the grain. I do this daily. You have to figure out what works best for you and work it from there.

I'll try R3 and a Personna Blue tomorrow. I think I had some trouble with the lather loading up in the Rockwell razor. I'll be more careful about that. Then I'll try the Rockwell blade in something I'm more used to, like my Feather AS-D2.