What's new

Rockwell 6S versus new Henson AL13 mild

This shaving thing is so technique and skin specific it can be hard to draw comparisons. I have now been shaving daily with the Henson mild, and it is only getting better for me as I learn the pressure etc. There are just some spots that work so much better on my face with this razor.
My shave buddy Thomas bought a Henson medium and was so amazed about it that he sold everything (karve, wolf, timeless ect) Good for him (and good for me, I bought the timeless for peanuts) 😉

Shavepals:

I have been wet shaving for 9 years, and my technique is pretty good. I have been using the Rockwell 6s for many years now. It is a fine razor. I had been using plate 4 for years, but find that I have some sensitive areas that are just hard to get right with the plate 4. When I go for it and get BBS, I sometimes pay with irritation and some weepers. So recently I switched to plate 3. I find it harder to reach BBS, but I am satisfied with DFS+. I shave pretty much every day. So it has been performing pretty well. I have decided that a milder razor makes sense for my face.

I was intrigued by the Henson AL13, and at the fairly low price point thought I would give it a try. The razor has a reputation of being perhaps too mild. Today I loaded an Astra SP, my blade of choice all the time, and went for it with my usual Proraso red cream. The shave was nearly effortless. Took a minute to get used to how light the razor is, but you find the angle immediately. There is not much feedback, just a little, but that is a good thing since it is really just shaving. I found the shave was terrific, and nearly BBS with my usual 3 pass shave. I will use this for a while and see what I think, but I suspect I will switch to this permanently. Very interesting indeed. The way the blade is held, and the shape of the razor make it easy to get the angle. I suspect many could get good shaves with this with less effort and technique.