What's new

Rockwell 6S versus new Henson AL13 mild

Shavepals:

I have been wet shaving for 9 years, and my technique is pretty good. I have been using the Rockwell 6s for many years now. It is a fine razor. I had been using plate 4 for years, but find that I have some sensitive areas that are just hard to get right with the plate 4. When I go for it and get BBS, I sometimes pay with irritation and some weepers. So recently I switched to plate 3. I find it harder to reach BBS, but I am satisfied with DFS+. I shave pretty much every day. So it has been performing pretty well. I have decided that a milder razor makes sense for my face.

I was intrigued by the Henson AL13, and at the fairly low price point thought I would give it a try. The razor has a reputation of being perhaps too mild. Today I loaded an Astra SP, my blade of choice all the time, and went for it with my usual Proraso red cream. The shave was nearly effortless. Took a minute to get used to how light the razor is, but you find the angle immediately. There is not much feedback, just a little, but that is a good thing since it is really just shaving. I found the shave was terrific, and nearly BBS with my usual 3 pass shave. I will use this for a while and see what I think, but I suspect I will switch to this permanently. Very interesting indeed. The way the blade is held, and the shape of the razor make it easy to get the angle. I suspect many could get good shaves with this with less effort and technique.

That's basically what I've been finding as well. It just seems to work. There's no flash to it. There's no mystery. It just does the job. I've seen a bunch of posts knocking it for not being able to change the angle, or the fact that it's light, but what does it really matter if it gives you the results you want?