What's new

rockwell 6s all plates

i am brand new to safety razors and my first purchase is the rockwell 6s. I am currently using feather blades as my first blades with this razor and I am still experimenting with the different plates. I have an extremely thick/course beard and I do not shave every day, more like every 3rd day (although now I find myself shaving more often just to use this amazing razor). I am using plate #'s 5 and 6 so far when shaving every third day, but plate # 4 for daily shaves with the closest/smoothest shaves I have ever experienced with ZERO irritation (something I could never achieve in the past 20+ years of shaving with those 3,4,or 5 blade disposables). this razor actually makes me look forward to shaving. so anyway, I would like some advise from someone that shaves with the rockwell 6s. can someone recommend a particular blade for that razor? also, why can't I seem to shave off any facial hair with plate #'s 1,2, or 3? poor technique? or is it because I have only tried those three plates after shaving with a #4 and I was trying to shave closer than the #4 got me, which was already bbs? I would be very happy for anyone's input. thanks, Jeff

First, welcome to B&B, Jeff.

Some questions:
  1. Have you mapped the pattern of your beard to determine what direction is with the grain (WTG) and against the grain (ATG)?
  2. How many passes do you do when you shave and in what direction (WTG, XTG, or ATG)?
  3. If you are getting BBS shave with plate 4, why do you want to go closer?
  4. Why do you want to switch from Feather blades?
As for blades, I would recommend you try a sampler pack and see what works best for you. Blades are a matter of individual preference. Many folks may chime in what their favorite blade may be - but that blade might not be what works best for you.