What's new

Rex b75

My step mother in law gave me this brush years ago when I started wet shaving. I put it in a drawer and forgot about it because it has blue ink or paint spilled on it. Should I try cleaning the blue off with something? If so what?
Or just re-knot it. Or is it not worth the
re-knot?

20190111_162642~2.jpg
20190111_162823~2.jpg

FarmerTan

"Self appointed king of Arkoland"
I was a nurse. I was ALWAYS scribbling notes on my hand, arm, etc. It erased with alcohol swaps. Could you soak it in alcohol and then use some nice balsam or other hair conditioner?

I was a nurse. I was ALWAYS scribbling notes on my hand, arm, etc. It erased with alcohol swaps. Could you soak it in alcohol and then use some nice balsam or other hair conditioner?

Worth a try. It's not like I'm that worried about it.

If you like a handle, it is worth a re-knot.

I'm very practical about a lot of things. I would try it as is, and if I like the knot, would use it as long as the blue wasn't contagious :) I would also try it for a while to see if the knot broke in more.

When I first looked at it, kept trying to find the spot of blue on the handle before I realized it was actually in the knot.

I'm very practical about a lot of things. I would try it as is, and if I like the knot, would use it as long as the blue wasn't contagious :) I would also try it for a while to see if the knot broke in more.

When I first looked at it, kept trying to find the spot of blue on the handle before I realized it was actually in the knot.

Sorry I should have stated the blue was in the bristles.

Good suggestion. The rubbing alcohol turned blue quite quickly, with a bit of swirling it was bold blue. Refreshed the rubbing alcohol and got quite a bit more out but there is still alot left in there. Maybe I will try lathering with something that usually makes a good white lather and see if it turns blue. If it doesn't bleed into lather it's probably fine to try for a shave or two.