What's new

REVIEW: Frank Shaving G5/G7 synthetic brushes.

Being that I have and use regularly 2 of these knots in handles I commissioned I would respectfully disagree with the TNS Angel Hair and the Quarter Moon being non-premium as they are premium in my opinion and the reason I switched to all TNS knotted brushes in my cabinet... I'd put these and the Timberwolf of his up against any brush out there, any day!!

I meant they are non-premium pricing wise.
TnS angel, quarter/full moon are all superb!!

Disclaimer: I'm going by the assumption that the G5 black knot is commonly referred to as G5B and the G7 is referred to as G5C.
The G7 has a remarkable likeness to a two band badger (2BB). This matches the reviews I've read regarding the G5C knot.

This bulb knot has all the characteristics of a 2BB!
The G5C discussed in this thread is a fan, not a bulb. Are you referring to a different G5C? Or are these the same fibers, different shape?

Sorry, I’m still new to shaving brushes and am trying to understand some of the different synthetic knots. And all these “G5” knots are confusing me.

The G5C discussed in this thread is a fan, not a bulb. Are you referring to a different G5C? Or are these the same fibers, different shape?

Sorry, I’m still new to shaving brushes and am trying to understand some of the different synthetic knots. And all these “G5” knots are confusing me.

I don't have the "G5C" so it was just my assumption. They may actually be different fibres but given both the G5C and the G7 are made in Germany, there's a chance they may be the same fibre.

The G7 has a light scrub (zero scritch) and excellent splay similar to a 2 band badger. That's what differentiates this from more standard/budget synthetic knots.

I don't have the "G5C" so it was just my assumption. They may actually be different fibres but given both the G5C and the G7 are made in Germany, there's a chance they may be the same fibre.