What's new

Restoring etching!

So I know this has been talked about before, and that a lot of people say it’s not really feasible, but I have found a way to start “bringing back” the etchings on a blade. I’m going to continue to work on it. I’ll post this comparison which I know I’m gonna get flamed on for having one picture with the flash and one without, but I didn’t take the first picture and I only thought to take a picture after it worked. So I had to use the pic that was from where I bought it. Trust me though, it does work. I believe I’ll have to do multiple passes and take care not to destroy the blade since I’m using a metallurgic reagent and it’s really quite dangerous. But here are the first pass comparisons. I’m still learning how to make it work better. But it’s pretty awesome to see it happen.

Attachments

• 42BD62A1-C9FD-46BC-955D-CF78247D838D.jpeg
    42BD62A1-C9FD-46BC-955D-CF78247D838D.jpeg
    916.9 KB · Views: 69
No gentlemen on this forum will “flame” you, but it would be nice if you can share more information on the full process you are using. You might actually get some guidance from folk with skills in this field.

If possible it can be a game changer for those restoring razor such as myself.

I want to do a few more passes to see how much I can revive the etching to make it worth it. It’s extremely dangerous to make the reagent if you don’t take the right precautions. I’m not trying to keep it a secret for profit or anything, I just don’t want someone getting hurt because they want to try it out. I’m using an acid to darken the etchings. I’m not sure exactly how it works because I didn’t design the formula. I just repurposed it.

Lots of people acid etch at home. As long as proper precautions are taken it is no more dangerous than mowing the lawn IMO. I have hydrochloric acid, sulfuric acid and phosphoric acid (and plenty of others) on hand at all times. Very useful for different tasks around the workshop.