What's new

Refreshing your blade

Straight razor honing is one of those subjects where if you ask 10 guys for an opinion you get 11 responses. And each one of them is valid. It works for them.

So my question to you all is how do you freshen your blade? Now, by this I mean the blade does not need a bevel reset and a run through all your stones, or repair of major damage like when you slapped it on the faucet when rinsing your blade and heard a fatal "tink" and look to see a tip missing, but rather it just needs to be "freshened"....a fresh edge or something of the sort. An extra 50 laps on the strop just doesnt seem to do it. Anyway, you get the picture.
Me? I freshen my blade by 10 to 15 laps on my 12k Naniwa. Does the trick for me. How about you?

50-150 laps on my finisher. Super light. Followed with 50-100 on the leather. As long as it TTT pretty cleanly and quietly, I can be confident it will give a good shave. I am not an old pro but I do have a "process" that works for me. And is no longer just gues and shoot in the dark, like in the beginning LOL. But that was fun too.

I generally dull the blade on a glass gently. And set a bevel fast with my 1k. Then up from there. I have many times raised a small slurry on my jnat too.

Depends on the day. Sometimes it's jnat with tomo slurry and other times it is some laps on the coticule.

Side note there was 1 razor I had with probably 120+ ish shaves that I would re touch with coticule (every 25 shaves or so, it would get 30-40 laps on the 5x2 coti). After the 3rd touch up or 4th the edge still got better but not to where it could be. Eventually it went on a 2k for bevel reset then coti edge again.

I have not got to that point with a jnat edge yet but the coti edge razor was my daily driver. Not sure how long my jnat could keep the magic happening.