What's new

Refreshing edge for each shave

Dear forum members,

I've been shaving with a straight for several months. Thanks to you all and especially the save clinic where I could find very useful information on how to make this journey.

In my case, I need to refresh the edge before each shave by stropping using an abrasive paste of ca. 1-2 micron. My beard is quite dense and strong and I usually do three passes: WTG, XTG and ATG. I know YMMV, but I would like to ask whether there are also other forum members who also need to refresh the edge for each shave. In general I've always read that once the edge has been sharpened it can take several shaves before needing to strop again with an abrasive paste or use a stone.

It could be that in my case because I do a three pass shave and the characteristics of the beard the edge becomes somewhat dull after a shave. But it could also be that I still have to perfect the technique/shaving angle, although I guess if the angle was not correct I would get either a harsh shave or have more difficulties cutting all the whiskers.

If I do not refresh the edge I can feel more pulling on the hairs and difficulties having a smooth shave.

Look forward to hearing your experiences.

Miguel

One of our forum members is a big advocate of using balsa with diamond paste between every shave. There is even a long thread about how to do it. At one time there was also a passaround of a couple of razors and the balsa. I participated in it.

It did make for a wicked-sharp edge on a daily basis. I, too, have coarse stubble and I ended up moving from straights back to DE/SE and then back to shavettes because straights just didn't maintain a sharp-enough edge for long enough, and I hated shaving with an edge that wasn't keen enough.

So, you are not alone.