What's new

Rediscovered Gillette Red Tip - WOW!

JCinPA

The Lather Maestro
Holly smokes! :w00t:

In my two years of DE wet shaving, I've had a Slim, Fatboy, Flare Tip, Aristocrat, Edwin Jagger DE89 now with Ikon Bulldog handle, and a Bob's Razorworks Bull Mastiff with a replated NEW long comb mounted on it. I got rid of all the others and only have the DE89/Ikon and the NEW/BRW combo now ... except for a 1956 birth year Red Tip. Which I never use, really.

Well, For whatever reason, I tossed it in my travel bag for a vacation. Maybe it is that I am now a wet shaving expert, I needed the two years under my belt, but while I was impressed with it last year (but not blown away). I have not used it in about a year. Now? I think it is my best razor! I may end up selling the others and getting another red tip or two as spares.

Both the other razors are stunning to look at, and for the "tool factor" and "cool factor" they are outstanding. And they both shave well. But after about three days with the red tip, I'm finding it is my closest shaver, without any of the discomfort I sometimes got with a FaTip. For me, at least, the Red Tip may have been the pinnacle of razor evolution. Although I do remember being very impressed the one time I used my Aristocrat before PIFing it away.

Any other thoughts on the Red Tip? I can't search for "Red Tip" I get all kinds of reasons why search does not return anything. Maybe it's volume of posts but the search function here is not very good.

I have the Red Tip in my travel bag as my travel razor. Have another one in my rotation at home. Neither one of my razors are in "looks great" shape - but they give a superior shave.

$Vintage DEs.jpg

I always liked the red tip and how it shaves, I find the shaves were too similar to my late 1940's aristocrat so I sold the red tip and kept the aristocrat.

Glad you got the chance to reacquaint yourself with the Red Tip SS.