What's new

Ready to start working on these

Got these today In The mail! Very excited to get started on bringing these back to life (at least attempting to). I hope to be able to post my progress on these, if that’s cool, I’ve already received a lot of tips and guidance from this group on brushes and restoration so I think I’m ready to give it a whirl!

Wish me luck and thanks again.
proxy.php
proxy.php
proxy.php
proxy.php
proxy.php
proxy.php
on this thread (I think this is the right one).

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I started work on the wooden handled Rubberset first. I have a lot of experience restoring Briar tobacco pipes, so I feel comfortable trying the wooden brush handle first. After a lot of fine sanding, cleaning and polishing I’m pretty satisfied with it. I wanted to keep as much of its natural, well used character so I didn’t sand a whole lot of the wood. I’m a bit disappointed that I couldn’t get the lettering to take better but they were very worn. I’ve ordered a 22mm master badger silver tip from TGN. Hopefully it will look good and work well!
proxy.php
proxy.php
proxy.php
proxy.php
proxy.php
proxy.php
proxy.php
proxy.php
proxy.php

BTW, is this a Rubberset 49 I’m working on? The only number on it is the “1” that’s on the wooden handle part but I’m thinking that number represents something else, any ideas? Thanks.

Hello and thanks for the great tips and encouragement on my first brush restoration!

I do have another question though..

I was wondering if I should seal this wooden handle with anything? I’m happy with its looks as it does show its natural age and ware, but I’ve only applied a few coats of Carnauba wax via my buffer as far as sealing goes. Should I apply something else? Thanks.