What's new

Razor Suggestion

I shave with a Muhle R41 in the summer and Muhle R89 in the winter. I use shark, astra, and personna blades. I have been using safety razors exclusively since May 2012. I noticed the threads on my R41 started wearing down and was looking for a replacement razor that is more durable for under $100. Something slightly less aggressive than a R41 would be perfect.

I shave with a Muhle R41 in the summer and Muhle R89 in the winter. I use shark, astra, and personna blades. I have been using safety razors exclusively since May 2012. I noticed the threads on my R41 started wearing down and was looking for a replacement razor that is more durable for under $100. Something slightly less aggressive than a R41 would be perfect.
The Razorock SS Lupo 95 or the above the tie windsor pro SB90 are both great options

Why not give it a try to the Fatip Piccolo? A bit less efficient than R41, but still quite performing and made of brass.

JCarr

More Deep Thoughts than Jack Handy
Was going to suggest the RazoRock Lupo stainless steel razors. With a handle they come in around $72 US. Excellent razor! Cured my R.A.D. !!!

I ...was looking for a replacement razor that is more durable for under $100. Something slightly less aggressive than a R41 would be perfect.
You should watch out for a
Karve Christopher Bradley Brass Razor paired with Open Comb "F plate."

With a bit of care it'll likely outlast you.
20210504_124505-01-01-01-01.jpeg

The Karve checks all your boxes. And in the future you just might add a milder safety bar plate (C or D) to replace the R89 (for less than another 25 USD).

You should watch out for a
Karve Christopher Bradley Brass Razor paired with Open Comb "F plate."

With a bit of care it'll likely outlast you.
View attachment 1290638

The Karve checks all your boxes. And in the future you just might add a milder safety bar plate (C or D) to replace the R89 (for less than another 25 USD).