What's new

Random Rainy Day Ramblings - Two Months On

Howdy all,

I’ve been doing the traditional wet shave for about two months now and here are a few observations.

I am astounded that I’m 48 years old and I’m only now learning the proper way to prepare my face, execute a shave and recover my face afterwards. How can so much wisdom have disappeared from our common awareness so quickly? I don’t want to turn political but I’m betting that the decrease in fathers raising their children combined with the profitability of Big Shaving selling a new magic cure rather than teaching the fundamentals are at fault. DE shaver or not, every man needs to understand the fundamentals of prep, execution and recovery. It certainly would have saved me much pain over the past 30 years.

The very best advice I’ve gotten so far is this “Shave the lather, not the beard”. I’ve watched too many videos and read too many posts to know who to attribute it to but that advice changed my shaving forever. I had heard things like; “don’t use too much pressure”, “don’t press too hard” and “use a light touch”. Still, my first two shaves were a mess. That’s when I hit on “shave the lather, not the beard” and it finally sunk in.

One of my most amazing discoveries, so far, has been the Alum Block. I use it after each now. Why isn’t this product sold next to every razor / blade display in every store? Again, I believe that it would have helped save me from a lot of pain over the years.

Lastly, I watched videos and read posts here for about a year (on and off) before I finally pulled the trigger. I couldn’t believe that anyone viewed shaving as a hobby and actually enjoyed it. I was intrigued and finally won over when I realized that for me the draw was a combination of cool toys, a genuinely better shave and becoming a student then finally a master of the masculine art of shavology.