What's new

Questions about damaged cigars

I am relatively new to cigars and don’t fully know what is deemed acceptable vs unacceptable when it comes to cigar conditions. I have decided to build up a bit of an inventory to let age over the winter and have made a few purchases online to save a good bit.

The retailer I purchased from has an easy return policy which I have already had to use once. I don’t what to have to use it often but wonder what registers as red flags for cigar conditions for you guys with more experience

I have received my 2nd bundle of 5 cigars that are in better condition than the first. These feel better than the first did as well. My main concern is related to the wrappers. These are a shade wrapper and I know they are thin and a bit more delicate than a sungrown or Maduro. If the wrapper is cracked or flaked what do you do? Return, take note and handle with care?

I have attached this phot for reference.
70764F60-B5CA-4744-A0D6-5D6DE7E51DDE.jpeg

Kentos

B&B's Dr. Doolittle.
Staff member
If it’s only the wrapper I would just smoke it, if it goes down to the binder it might be a hard smoke. Depending on the cost I might just smoke it and stop using that vendor. TBO I never got damaged cigars yet so the vendor may need to improve their packing or check their cigars better before shipping. Who is the vendor? Things out of their control happen too.

If it’s only the wrapper I would just smoke it, if it goes down to the binder it might be a hard smoke. Depending on the cost I might just smoke it and stop using that vendor. TBO I never got damaged cigars yet so the vendor may need to improve their packing or check their cigars better before shipping. Who is the vendor? Things out of their control happen too.