What's new

Questions about blades

So I have been using a safety razor for about 3 months now. The first razor I bought came with a pack of Van der Hagen blades which I am almost out of. I would like to try some other blades but am unsure of which one I want to try. I would like some general suggestions/guidelines from you guys. I know it all personal preference but this way at least maybe I can avoid buying really crappy blades that I would then have to begrudgingly use up.

I suggest the 40 blade Gillette sampler from Connaught shaving. There are some great blades in that pack. The price is now £8.40
Gillette 40.JPG

Blades may be the most YMMV aspect of ’traditional’ wet shaving! What is ‘really crappy’ for me may be perfect for you! Many of us enjoy ‘exploring’ different blade options.

I suggest you purchase a blade sampler pack or two to see what works best in your hands! :thumbup: :thumbup:
I didn't even know that they sold sampler packs like that. I will look into it. I will be honest that I dont think I'm in love with the blades that I have been using.

I didn't even know that they sold sampler packs like that. I will look into it. I will be honest that I dont think I'm in love with the blades that I have been using.
Tryablade is great. You can get single blades. I'm testing 30 or so at the moment. There really is no such thing as a crappy blade. They are all very, very sharp. Some I like, some I don't. It all depends on skin and hair type and the razor being used.

Tryablade is great. You can get single blades. I'm testing 30 or so at the moment. There really is no such thing as a crappy blade. They are all very, very sharp. Some I like, some I don't. It all depends on skin and hair type and the razor being used.
I'll second the suggestion of tryablade.com. You can put together your own sample pack of blades that interest you. I'd add it's a good idea to get two or three of each blade to get a better idea of it.