What's new

Question: installing Hart scales

Hi all,

I would like to attempt to install Hart scales on an old straight razor.
Hart scales don't require insert, it's one piece and uses hex nut soon no hammering, but it requires a wider hole in the razor, so I need to drill through steel.

I saw on youtube a video dedicated to spot annealing
which says I can hit a part of razor which need to be drilled with the torch,
and then this particular area became sellable and I can use cobalt drill bit to extend the hole.

Does somebody tried it ? Beyond extending the hole in a razor, which most likely a bigger part of work, any other obstacles I might face in this task?
Thanks a lot in arcane.

I am an amateur machinist and do a bit of annealing, hardening tempering as well as lots of drilling and cutting operations on different types of steals. Your spot annealing will work, but for a one off hole I would use a small carbide burr and use that to drill the hard steel. Carbide drills are available as well, but they are much more expensive and brittle enough that they require a good drill press and lots of rigidity in the set up. A small carbide burr is cheap and will have no trouble with the steel.

Brianskeet, thanks so much for your advice. I justtook a look on carbid burrs ( I'll need one which will extend existing smaller hole to 3/16" one). I have a good DeWalt drill and if I understand you correctly I'll not be neering a torch for spot annealing. What's about a drill press? I don't have one and cheap presses like40-60$ have bad reviews. Can jextend the whole without drill press?
Bes regards and thanks