What's new

Question about What makes a Naniwa Crumble

I've been honing straight razors for a little over 5 years. I have a progression of Naniwa stones (600, 1000, 5000, 8000 & 12000). Overall, I am very happy with them. A couple years ago, I added the 5000 Naniwa when I had to replace an internet-purchased stone. When I realized that I was generating a lot of slurry and wearing the stone a lot more than creating an edge. I went down to a local knife store and was informed that some stones are much harder than others and ended up buying the 5000.

Two years after purchase it has developed an alligator pattern of fishers and last month a few chunks started falling off of it. I am wondering if I have treated it incorrectly. I was informed that the stone doesn't need to be soaked before use. I spray it with water a few times prior to use. I keep a slurry stone sitting in an inch of water beside it and between the slurry stone and spray bottle I hone with a very slurry. After use, I rinse it off in the kitchen sink and stand it on edge on a paper towel to dry overnight. After every four or five uses I run water over it and a flattening plate to keep it flat.

If you have any idea what I am doing that may be causing the crumbling I would appreciate your input.

Attachments

• IMG_1288.JPG
    IMG_1288.JPG
    896.9 KB · Views: 31
  • IMG_1352.JPG
    IMG_1352.JPG
    1,017.4 KB · Views: 33
I have used those stones and others for over 20 years and I have never had one do that. I follow the same process you are using for drying etc. Maybe you got a bad one? I highly recommend a coticule if you don't have one.

Naniwa Chosera & Professional stones have been fraught with crazing and cracking issues for many years. It is not a new story at all. I recall the Chosera 5k being the main offender initially, guys were gluing them to boards so they didn't split apart.
Not every single Chosera/Pro does this though. So it's sorta like a hit-or-miss situation.