What's new

Quarter ground vs. Full hollow ground

I am fairly new to straight razors and have a Hart Steel quarter ground 6/8. My local sharpener told me that since my facial hair is not especially coarse or dense looking, he thinks I would probably get a easier, closer shave with a full hollow ground and that stropping a full hollow is easier. I did have my eye on the Dovo Flowing 6/8".

Any thoughts on the benefits or drawbacks of quarter vs. full hollow?

Kentos

B&B's Dr. Doolittle.
Staff member
If you are new to straight shaving every blade will give you the same subpar shave :). I would stick with one grind until shaving with it gets boring and uneventful. THEN go out and try some different grinds. The different subtle technique needed for each type is unique to that razor, and likely will be glossed over in your newness.. YMMV tho. Some people hate quarter hollows, some hate full hollows. Me, I like em all!

Full hollows tend to have a thinner bevel and more flex to the blade. This can give you a close shave with less irritation than the quarter grinds. However, the flex of the full hollow gave those razors a steeper learning curve for me. Quarter grinds can be very smooth and were easier for me to learn with.

Now I use 2/3 hollows or more about 75% of the time.

The full hollow may indeed work better for you but I feel the wedge to half hollow may be a bit more forgiving and easier to start with. Once you become more seasoned you should be able to get great shaves from them all. I like them all.

The full hollow may indeed work better for you but I feel the wedge to half hollow may be a bit more forgiving and easier to start with. Once you become more seasoned you should be able to get great shaves from them all. I like them all.
Big plus 1