What's new

Quality Leather Belts?

musicman1951

three-tu-tu, three-tu-tu
I purchased a very nice casual belt from Popov Leather. Good price and perfect for jeans.

For dress belts I like Coach and Allen Edmunds (I do have a Coach belt that is too stiff for my liking, but seems to last forever). I did get a pretty nice belt from a Johnson & Murphy outlet at an attractive sale price years ago. It's a black dress belt, so I have not had a chance to wear it out - but still looks good.

I make my own. It is quite easy to make high quality belts with very few tools. Filson makes the finest belt I have ever purchased Previously.
I make my own belts as well. You're definitely right about only needing a few tools that won't break the bank, and for those that haven't worked with leather, it's great and easy starting point.
I've been wearing the same belt every day for the last 14 years and it's still going strong.

The Equus leather belts are very nice. I have one a kind person bought me about 30 years ago and it still looks fantastic, with just two or three treatments with a light wax mixture over the decades. However, I think you do pay for the name to some extent.
Another narrower belt I had made for me about 20 years ago by a UK-based firm called Beaver Bushcraft is of equally good quality (the hand stitching is wonderful) and cost a fair bit less. Cheaper again (about £40) but also of excellent quality is my newest belt, made by Awl by Hand, a very small business based in Northumberland. They had a stand at an agricultural show I attended, and it was nice to talk to them about the stitching they use, and the leather — good bridle quality stuff, properly tanned, not split and plastic coated rubbish. Well tanned leather can improve with age, given a little care, but split leather just looks worse and worse, then fails.

FarmerTan

"Self appointed king of Arkoland"
All my best longest lasting belts were bought by local type craftsmen.