What's new

Puma 3/8 for newbie or later use.

Hey guys,
I've started to move over from de razors to straights and want to try out a few different ones. I've got a few 5/8,6/8 ect with different points to them. I've spotted a good buy on a Vintage puma 88 3/8 and just wondering if I should purchase it or not. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.
Only $110 AUD
Screenshot_20220627-124104_eBay.jpg

I agree. It's not for newbies. Plus I had someone send me a puma 3/8 and the thing was so far out of whack. I mean ground so wrong I could get half the blade to act right even with tape in odd places.
IMO, Stay Away!
BTW, I've got a Real 2/8 that I break out once a year. But I've been at this for a long time.

I have to agree with the previous posters. A 3/8 razor is going to be tough for a noob. I've been using straights for a few years and still struggle with a 3/8.

A well honed 4/8, probably now a 7/16, is still a different beast to the 3/8 I have.

Some people like the narrower razors, but they take a lot of time and patience to dial in.

It's my understanding that 3/8 and smaller razors were typically used by barbers for hair cutting/thinning, and maybe for cleanups around the edges after a shave. Personally 4/8 is as small as I like to go for shaving my whole face.

Biggest & Littlest.jpg

1/4" from top of the spine to edge. Shaving with this is not for the faint of heart. I've been at this for over 10 years. Wait until you get more experience before trying the little ones.

I see no reason why a novice straight user couldn't use a blade that size. After all, you're shaving with the edge and not the spine. Would a novice do better with a 7/8 or 3/8? I fail to see what difference it would make.

I had a 9/16 that was a barber's straight razor and it was as sharp and as deft as any of my straights. And for around the mouth and under the nose, it was perfect.

rbscebu

Girls call me Makaluod