What's new

Proposed tax hike and your response?

Isaac

B&B Tease-in-Residence
I have a feeling that the tax hike probably wont go through, but in this age of taxing vices to oblivian it is a possibility. What I am seeing is that a typical C&D tin would run close to $60 in the US.

What are you doing about it now? Any specific blends that you are buying up to prepare for the inevitable?

Toothpick

Needs milk and a bidet!
Staff member
On all tobacco? Just pipe tobacco? Cigars too? If this is true I may do some research to see how much my favorite cigars could “maybe” go up to in price. If its a lot more I’ll stock up a few boxes. Otherwise, meh.

Kentos

B&B's Dr. Doolittle.
Staff member
I have been cellaring heavily for several years in anticipation of something like this. Either a tax increase, prohibition of internet/mail order, or massive tobacco crop blight. Some called it irrational paranoia, hoarding etc. If you intend to stockpile tobacco, it would be best to stockpile what you like obviously, and blends you don’t know it you like, tinned would probably be easier to trade in the future.

Kentos

B&B's Dr. Doolittle.
Staff member
1A7EA1A0-2A9A-4BDD-AD42-3C6FC1040164.png

The amounts in the middle column are the *taxes* on a pound now, not the cost, right? In which case the total, retail plus tax amount, for a pound will be much higher than it is now (and it ain't cheap). I suppose we had all better cellar some stuff, in case.

Toothpick

Needs milk and a bidet!
Staff member
So if i buy a box of cigars now for $100 the same box will cost $150 after the tax increase? That’s all I really wanna know. What’s the percentage of tax on cigars after the law goes in affect. They don’t make it easy to find.

I’ll just wait until all this settles and they vote it in. If it’s to much I’ll just quit smoking.

Columbo

Mr. Codgers Neighborhood