What's new

Preshave battle: baume.be versus Grooming Department?

CzechCzar

Use the Fat, Luke!
I have and love the GD preshave. However, I note that it gets runny as time goes on. I have been eyeing baume.be as a replacement.

Is anyone able to compare the two? On whatever points you like - price, quality, post-shave skin care, etc.

Let me know your thoughts, and thanks!

Phoenixkh

I shaved a fortune
I have no experience with Grooming Department pre-shave but APBinNCA (Aaron) recommended the Baume.be pre-shave. I bought some and did a few tests... first of all.. it was wonderful with Baume.be shaving cream. I tried the Baume.be without their pre-shave and could tell a big difference. I've been using it ever since... with every shave.

I like it so much... I bought another tub. The tubs are small and I use a snurdle with every shave so it won't last as long as the soaps and creams I have. Amazon had it along with Baume.be cream when I was looking. They might be out of stock now. I haven't checked lately.... OK, I just checked.. Amazon has Baume.be pre-shave.. not the cream.

CzechCzar

Use the Fat, Luke!
I have no experience with Grooming Department pre-shave but APBinNCA (Aaron) recommended the Baume.be pre-shave. I bought some and did a few tests... first of all.. it was wonderful with Baume.be shaving cream. I tried the Baume.be without their pre-shave and could tell a big difference. I've been using it ever since... with every shave.

I like it so much... I bought another tub. The tubs are small and I use a snurdle with every shave so it won't last as long as the soaps and creams I have. Amazon had it along with Baume.be cream when I was looking. They might be out of stock now. I haven't checked lately.... OK, I just checked.. Amazon has Baume.be pre-shave.. not the cream.
And, @Phoenixkh, thank you!