What's new

Precious Metals

Monday saw gold jump as you'd expect. As the market tumble continues and picks up pace, investors are forced to offload gold in order to cover their long positions. There's a record number of bullish traders and that means a correction is forcing them to scramble and increase liquidity in order to protect their other positions and cover margin calls.

Edit: I should say I'm not an expert at all and this is just my layman's understanding.

TexLaw

Fussy Evil Genius
Everyone is fleeing to bonds. The rate on US Treasuries has fallen off a cliff. Precious metals aren't much of a shelter as they used to be, as much of their market value now comes from their value in industry, rather than the fact that they're just pretty.

I saw razor emporiums revamp rhodium slim and fatboy prices went up 50 bucks yesterday but gold plated and nickel stayed the same.

Ron R

I survived a lathey foreman
Gold is a barometer for turmoil and is manipulated by Central banks (cartel) around the world who hold the most tons.
The central banks are doing things behind the scenes to calm and reclaim their position once again.