What's new

Pondering.

I have been wetshaving for about 4 years. I started with an Edwin Jagger de89 and a tweezerman brush. For the past two years I have used Proraso cream. I recently acquired a feather tto razor. I have always used derby blades. All of these are budget items I bought to make a light initial investment in case wetshaving was not for me. Thing is, even though I intended on upgrading at some point I never did. These products have served me well. I am still left wondering what else is out there though. Any suggestions?

If you get the shaves you want, then perhaps no. But there are definitely different face feels to be had in regards to razor geometry and weight, different shapes, sizes, and grades of brushes...plus straights are out there too.

First thought is grab a sampler pack of blades, particularly one that includes the likes of Astra SP, Feather, and Gillette Silver Blue. You'll get five-packs of each which is enough to see how they work for you. Derbies may be what you stick with, but you won't know until you try others.

You could upgrade the brush easily as well. A great boar brush doesn't go above $20, and once they're broken in they're soft but still have backbone. Check out Semogue or Omega boar brushes. If you want to get a good badger brush you'll spend a bit more, but it could be worth it to find out what the badger experience is all about (and you can ask over on the Brushes forum for suggestions). Oh, last but not least, the L'Occitane Cade synthetic brush is really good and only $30.

You've also got a whole world of creams and soaps to explore. A few sites like Maggard Razors sell sample packs, which can help. Plenty of really good soaps and creams aren't expensive, so you'll have a lot of options there if you're wanting to change up from the Proraso.

Enjoy!

If you're happy with the results you're getting then throwing money chasing other shaving products will be fun but superfluous. That's the long and the short of it.